Sarah K. Vann Award Presented to Dr. Roy

The ALAsc Executive Board is honored to present Dr. Loriene Roy with the 2014 Sarah K. Vann Award. This is the tenth year we have given the award, but will be the first time we have given it to someone who lives outside of Hawai‘i. The award is presented to people who advance librarianship in Hawai‘i within the areas of intellectual freedom and international issues. Dr. Roy was nominated for the Vann Award in recognition of her service to librarianship in Hawai‘i, especially from the perspective of international librarianship, as well as her encouragement of librarianship grounded in serving the indigenous peoples of Hawai‘i.

About the Sarah K. Vann Award

The  Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award was created in 2004 to recognize library and/or information specialists or educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association, as demonstrated by their positive impact on the LIS profession in Hawaii. The award is named after late UH Manoa LIS Emeritus Professor Sarah K. Vann, who was an international leader on intellectual freedom, library history, international librarianship, and intellectual freedom.

Past Recipients

  • donna Bair-Mundy, 2013
  • Violet Harada, 2010
  • Karen Peacock, 2008
  • Andrew Wertheimer, 2007
  • Gail Morimoto, 2006
  • Lynn Davis, 2005
  • Rebecca Knuth, 2004