Sarah K. Vann Award


The Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award was created in 2004 to recognize library and/or information specialists or educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association, as demonstrated by their positive impact on the LIS profession in Hawaiʻi. The award is named after late UH Mānoa LIS Emeritus Professor Sarah K. Vann, who was an international leader on intellectual freedom, library history, and international librarianship.  Learn more about Dr. Vann here.

Past Recipients

  • Christian DeLay, 2018
  • Noriko Asato, 2016
  • Eleanor Kleiber, 2015 – ALAsc Blog UH Manoa News – IFLA News
  • Dr. Loriene Roy, 2014 – ALAsc Blog
  • Donna Bair-Mundy, 2013
  • Tisha Aragaki, 2012
  • Violet Harada, 2010
  • Karen Peacock, 2008
  • Andrew Wertheimer, 2007
  • Gail Morimoto, 2006
  • Lynn Davis, 2005
  • Rebecca Knuth, 2004