Guest Speaker Carolyn Dennison – October 28, 2014


Health Sciences Librarianship – Guest Speaker Carolyn Dennison
Continue reading


Banned Books Week – September 24, 2014

Aloha everyone! ALA-sc celebrated Banned Books Week, celebrating the freedom to read.

Our agenda included:

  • A snack bar featuring foods with “banned” names.
  • An activity with wrapped books. Written on the wrappings were reasons why the books were challenged or banned.
  • Photo area where students can take a photo of their favorite banned books
  • Fundraiser for ALA-sc; iron-on labels!

The Bluest Eye blueberries and The Grapes of Wrath grapes were one of many toppings and snacks that went with our purple The Color Purple yogurt. Animal Farm animal crackers, The Chocolate War M&M’s, and author Joyce Carol Oates granola and oats were among our spread. Needless to say, these were pretty tasty!

For our activity, students were able to write down what titles they thought were underneath the wraps. We later revealed who got it correct and everyone was able to take home a book!

Banned Books Week

If anyone who had their picture taken would like a copy sent to them, please contact us!

Congratulations to our Graduates!

The ALA Hawaii Student Chapter would like to congratulate our Library and Information Science graduates of Spring 2014! Good luck with your future endeavors and hope we meet again!

Our treasurer, Katelyn Yoxtheimer has graduated. Best wishes to her future plans! With that being said, we have a new treasurer in our ALA executive board. Please welcome Julia!


Sarah K. Vann Award Presented to Dr. Roy

The ALAsc Executive Board is honored to present Dr. Loriene Roy with the 2014 Sarah K. Vann Award. This is the tenth year we have given the award, but will be the first time we have given it to someone who lives outside of Hawai‘i. The award is presented to people who advance librarianship in Hawai‘i within the areas of intellectual freedom and international issues. Dr. Roy was nominated for the Vann Award in recognition of her service to librarianship in Hawai‘i, especially from the perspective of international librarianship, as well as her encouragement of librarianship grounded in serving the indigenous peoples of Hawai‘i.

About the Sarah K. Vann Award

The  Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award was created in 2004 to recognize library and/or information specialists or educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association, as demonstrated by their positive impact on the LIS profession in Hawaii. The award is named after late UH Manoa LIS Emeritus Professor Sarah K. Vann, who was an international leader on intellectual freedom, library history, international librarianship, and intellectual freedom.

Past Recipients

  • donna Bair-Mundy, 2013
  • Violet Harada, 2010
  • Karen Peacock, 2008
  • Andrew Wertheimer, 2007
  • Gail Morimoto, 2006
  • Lynn Davis, 2005
  • Rebecca Knuth, 2004

Shelf Reading Service Project: We Fixed 100+ Shelves!

Mahalo everyone for helping on April 26, and thank you especially to Jan Sung for helping us brush up on our sorting skills and then letting us loose in the Hamilton stacks for a few hours. The twelve of us fixed 108 shelves! Kimberly Jackson also has a really awesome post about what we did, with even more photos.

Students practice their cataloging skills with a game brought by Jan Sung.

Students practice their cataloging skills with a game brought by Jan Sung.



All cleared up!

All cleared up!

Nominations Open for the Sarah K. Vann Award 2014!

Nominations Open for the Sarah K. Vann Award 2014!

The University of Hawaii at Manoa American Library Association Student Chapter (ALAsc) Executive Board is pleased to call for nominations for its tenth annual Sarah K. Vann Professional Service award. The award recognizes Hawaii librarians, information specialists, and LIS educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.

Preference will be given to individuals who have positively impacted librarianship in Hawaii in terms of intellectual freedom, advocacy for libraries and librarians, professional education, and international relations.

All ALAsc members are encouraged to submit written nominations via this nomination form (or in the form above). You may submit more than one nomination (just follow the “submit another response” link after you submit your first nomination). The form must be submitted by 11:59 PM on Tuesday, April 8, 2014. Nominations should include a brief letter explaining why the candidate is worthy of such recognition, with specific reference to professional service.

The ALA-SC Executive Board will vote on all submissions. The Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award was established in 2004. The award comes with a certificate and a complimentary dinner at the Hui Dui Spring Graduation Dinner.