Nominations Open for the Sarah K. Vann Award 2014!

Nominations Open for the Sarah K. Vann Award 2014!

The University of Hawaii at Manoa American Library Association Student Chapter (ALAsc) Executive Board is pleased to call for nominations for its tenth annual Sarah K. Vann Professional Service award. The award recognizes Hawaii librarians, information specialists, and LIS educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.

Preference will be given to individuals who have positively impacted librarianship in Hawaii in terms of intellectual freedom, advocacy for libraries and librarians, professional education, and international relations.

All ALAsc members are encouraged to submit written nominations via this nomination form (or in the form above). You may submit more than one nomination (just follow the “submit another response” link after you submit your first nomination). The form must be submitted by 11:59 PM on Tuesday, April 8, 2014. Nominations should include a brief letter explaining why the candidate is worthy of such recognition, with specific reference to professional service.

The ALA-SC Executive Board will vote on all submissions. The Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award was established in 2004. The award comes with a certificate and a complimentary dinner at the Hui Dui Spring Graduation Dinner.

Congratulations to our Graduates!

The ALA Hawaii Student Chapter would like to congratulate our Library and Information Science graduates of Spring 2014! Good luck with your future endeavors and hope we meet again!

Our treasurer, Katelyn Yoxtheimer has graduated. Best wishes to her future plans! With that being said, we have a new treasurer in our ALA executive board. Please welcome Julia!